How can we help? 419-774-4200   //   24 Hr. Emergency #: 419-774-4244
MUI After Hours #: 419-544-1775

Richland Newhope salutes coloring contest winners

Richland Newhope salutes coloring contest winners

March 8, 2017

Richland Newhope salutes coloring contest winners

 (Mansfield, OH) – Sixteen Richland County students have been selected as winners of the 24th Annual Richland County Third Grade Coloring Contest.  The event is sponsored by Richland Newhope as part of Developmental Disabilities Awareness Month in March. 

Richland County schools with third grade classes were invited to participate in the contest.  Students were asked to color a picture featuring two children, one of whom uses a wheelchair, with two cats.  The message on the picture simply said ‘Friends.’  Newhope received 572 entries from 16 schools.  One winner was chosen from each school.  Tony Koebel, an artist at Element of Art Studio/Gallery, assisted with the selection of this year’s winners. 

 “We truly appreciate the schools’ support for this contest each year,” said Richland Newhope Community Relations Director Jane Imbody.  “It provides us an opportunity to reach young people with our awareness message and to foster long-term acceptance and full integration of individuals with disabilities in our communities.”

The winners, their parents, teacher, principal, and superintendent have been invited to a pizza party at 11 a.m. on Fri., March 10, at Newhope’s Early Childhood Center, 255 Hedges Street.  Special guests will be Miss Ohio 2016 Alice Magoto and Miss Ohio’s Outstanding Teen 2016 Madison Heichel.  Shelby Mayor Steven Schag will present his city’s proclamation.  The children will also have an opportunity to participate in simulated disability activities.

This year’s coloring contest winners are: Avery Combs, Auburn Elementary; Briana McGinty, Bellville Elementary; Charlotte Seymour, Central Elementary; Cole Hughes, Crestview Elementary; Elizabeth Cole, Dowds Elementary; Timothy Ellis, Eastview Elementary; Aumariouz Taylor, Foundation Academy; Justice Habeeb-ull, John Sherman Elementary; Nevaeh Stockdale, Madison South Elementary; Savannah Stover, Mansfield Christian School; Tiffany Clemons, Prospect Elementary; Jordyn Benton, Sacred Heart School; Logan Sullivan, St. Mary’s School; Olivia Laux, St. Peter’s Elementary; Kate Young, Western Elementary; and Jayden Clark, Woodland Elementary.

Each of the winners will receive a certificate, a folder filled with disability awareness activity pages, a photograph with Miss Ohio and Miss Ohio’s Outstanding Teen, and a gift bag that includes three coloring books and crayons plus an American Sign Language “I Love You” sucker.

In 2016, Richland Newhope (Richland County Board of Developmental Disabilities) supported more than 1,700 individuals through early intervention, preschool, adult, residential, therapy, transportation, and other family support programs.

« Back to News Releases